Latvian band “Židrūns” is nominated for the IMPALA Album of the Year Award.


The Independent Music Companies Association – IMPALA has now revealed its shortlist of nominees for the seventh edition of the IMPALA Album of the Year Award. Once again the selection underlines the diversity and quality of independent labels from all over Europe.

25 albums are nominated and nineteen countries are represented this year, from legendary UK act Radiohead to Swiss krautpop band One Sentence, including Latvian band Židrūns represented by “I Love You Records”

Helen Smith, Executive Chair, IMPALA commented: “The essence of this prize is to put the spotlight on the most exceptional album of the year. It’s a great shortlist again with both new faces and well-established independent artists. The jury will now decide which album they believe was the best in 2016”. The winner will be announced at the end of February.

The “European Independent Album of The Year” award was launched in 2011 to showcase the breadth and diversity of independent talent across Europe. Previous winners of the Award are Efterklang, Adele, The xx and Guadalupe Plata.

The nominated albums are listed in alphabetical order by artist/name of the album/record label:

Agnes Obel – Citizen of Glass (PIAS)

Bisse – Højlandet (Gateway Music)

Blood Orange – Freetown Sound (Domino Records)

Boef – Gewoon Boef (Zonamo Entertainment)

Claudio Capéo – Claudio Capéo (Jo and Co)

Danny Brown – Atrocity Exhibition (Warp)

Dubioza Kolektiv – Happy Machine (PIAS)

First Breath After Coma – Drifter (Omnichord Records)

Hangutazók – Indulj El (RNC Music / Egység Média)

Highasakite – Camp Echo (Propeller Recordings)

Jolly Mare – Mechanics (42 Records/Don’t Panic)

Kase.O – El Círculo (BOA)

Klaus Johann Grobe – Spagat der Liebe (Cargo Records)

Lost Frequencies – Less Is More (Lost & Cie)

LUH – Spiritual Songs for Lovers to Sing (Mute Records)

Mark Ernestus’ NDAGGA RHYTHM FORCE – Yermande (Ndagga)

Meshuggah – The Violent Sleep Of Reason (Nuclear Blast)

Mikko Joensuu – Amen 1 (Svart Record)

One Sentence. Supervisor – Temporär Musik 1-13 (Oh, Sister Records)

Oscar – Cut And Paste (Wichita Recordings)

The Radio Dept. – Running Out of Love (Labrador)

Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool (XL Recordings)

Sara Renar – Tišina (Aquarius Records)

Škrtice – Škrtice (Lampshade Media)

Židrūns – Židrūns un tas, ko nevar nest (I Love You Records)


A full album playlist – IMPALA Album of the Year Award nominees 2016 (albums) – as well as a short playlist – IMPALA Album of the Year Award nominees 2016 (singles) – are available on Spotify to allow you to judge for yourself in advance of the winner’s announcement.

What do you think?


FUSEDMARC will represent LITHUANIA at the Eurovision Song Contest 2017!